The structure and work of the Association and its Council

The membership of the Association is subdivided into seven geographical regions and one special interest group of Roman Catholic Colleges.  Each of these constituencies elects a Principal member and a Governor member to the SFCA Council.  

The Council of the SFCA consists of the sixteen people elected by these groups plus two Principals who are co-opted to the Council. This ensures that the Council represents the full range of Sixth Form Colleges and to provide strong links between the Council and the SFCA's Policy Groups structure.

Council meets 3 times a year, usually in London. A typical meeting will review all the major trends affecting the sector and discuss how best the Association can meet and advance the needs of the membership. 

As well as frequent Council meetings, the SFCA also conducts business through a number of committees and network groups.